KHS Cheer Squad claims 3rd in Nation

Related Articles

Article and pictures submitted by Barbara Johnson
The corridor and performance Arena of the Dallas Convention Center reverberated with excitement as teams from around the nation competed for the coveted title of NCA National Champion. The 34th National Cheerleaders Association Senior and Junior High School National Championship took place on January 25th and 26th. {{more}}

Kennedale High School and Kennedale Junior High took 34 athletes to the championship this year. The Junior High and the High School Game Time Teams competed in three events each which focused on crowd participation. Both squads gave outstanding performances in each event.

The KHS High School Performance Team begins preparing in June for a routine that lasts only 2 ? minutes in January.
On day one, during the prelims, the squad had a very disappointing performance and finished in fifteenth place. Day two for the finals, KHS rocked the place. The team had an amazing performance, outscoring all other teams in their division by over a full point. This in a scoring system in which differences are measured in hundreds of a point.
The dramatic comeback performance during finals didn’t win the coveted “Jackets” of national winners but KHS was able to lay claim to being 3rd in the nation. Quite an honor in a competition that has all sizes of schools coming from across the nation from Texas to Alaska and back to Nebraska.
KHS?s Performance Team took home a first in Best Jumps in their division. This follows a first place win in Best Tumbling at Nationals last year. There was only 56 hundredths of a point separating the top three teams.
KJHS Cheer Squad (in black)

and the KHS Squad (in grey) competed in Dallas at Nationals


KJH Gametime Team

Amanda Lizarraga, Ashlyn Greenfield, Ashlynn Green, Daphne

Hunt, Emily Marr, Tiara Taylor, Kayla Jams, Jordyn Harrison, Rachel Prebe,

Kolbi Sipho, Hailey Vinson, Karley Vester, Sarah Wyckoff, Kayla Miller, Coached

by Maria Gross, Choreographed by Regan Hunt

KHS Gametime Team

Amber Bishop, Emily Crabtree, Courtney Doyle, Katelynn

Dunham, Hannah Dunn, Dani Rose Hedglin, Kristin Miller, Mac Moss, Madeline

Orona, Jamil Pearson, Nicolette Rangel, Melissa Rinehart, Kennedi Sipho,

Marlina DeLeon, Katie Miller, Baylee Moss, Taylor Richardson, Paloma Rivera,

Avery Tosh, Morgan Wills, Chayton Yardley, Coached by Barbara Johnston

KHS Performance Team

Amber Bishop, Courtney Doyle, Katelynn Dunham, Hannah Dunn,

Dani Rose Hedglin, Kristin Miller, Mac Moss, Madeline Orona, Jazzy Owens, Jamil

Pearson, Nicolette Rangel, Kennedi Sipho – Coached by Barbara Johnston,

Choreographed by Cody Hoffman

More on this topic



Popular stories