Ram Baseball Announces Signing of Cameron Massengill

Related Articles

SAN ANGELO ? The Angelo State baseball roster has grown by eight with the signings of three pitchers, three infielders and a catcher and outfielder. The group includes transfers from Baylor and Texas Tech, along with six transfers from the junior college ranks.

The signing class includes Jason Zgardowski (San Antonio, tr. Midland College), Derek Tyner (Boerne, tr. Odessa College), Trae Davis (Mexia, tr. Baylor), Tyler Barlow (Maple Ridge, British Columbia, tr. Midland College), Blake Bass (Lubbock, tr. Texas Tech), Cameron Massengill (Kennedale, tr. Cisco College), Miles Gully (San Angelo, tr. Western Texas College) and Dilon Chancellor (Slaton, tr. Odessa College). {{more}}
“I think we’ve added a lot of quality players and have really good depth on our roster,” said Angelo State head coach?Kevin Brooks, who is entering his 10th season at ASU and has compiled a 342-187 record. “There are a lot of guys with the tools to become great players and help us win. They’ll have to come in here and work hard and that’s what I believe each will do. They’re a group of players who want to get better and they all want to win.”?

Massengill was a state champion in high school, helping lead Kennedale to the Class 3A title in 2011 and is expected to provide the Rams with leadership at the catcher position for the next two seasons. A transfer from Cisco College, he hit .326 with four doubles and 17 RBIs last season.
“Cameron is a tremendous catcher with a great arm,” Brooks said. “He does a great job of handling the pitching staff and has really improved in his hitting. I think he will get even better at the plate. He is the type of player who can continue in the tradition of great catching that we’ve had at Angelo State.”
During Kennedale’s championship run, Massengill hit .463 with 59 RBIs, including an RBI single in the title game against Robinson.

Angelo State is coming off a 37-21 season and its second consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division II postseason. The program, which was started in 2005, won the 2007 and 2012 Lone Star Conference tournament championships and has reached the NCAA DII tournament four times and the NCAA DII College World Series in 2007.

More on this topic



Popular stories