45.8 F
Wednesday, December 2, 2020

Wildcats cap comeback season with post season basketball honors

Related Articles

Photos in this article by Staci Otts

Two Wildcats this year earned 4A All-Region honors along with 5 others Wildcats who won All-District recognition. In addition to the player awards, the Kennedale coaching staff shared District 7-4A Coaching Staff of the Year honors. {{more:[read more]}}

#24 Brandon Conwright (Sr) All-Region

& MVP All District ? Darious Hammond (Sr) All-Region & 1st Team


Kennedale remained unranked all season but ended up in the final 16 teams in Class 4A UIL basketball playoffs. The Cats fought back from a dismal 10-11 early season record to go 14-2 in the final part of the season, winning a district co-championship, bi-district, area and regional quarterfinal titles and a regional playoffs berth for the 3rd time in four years.

(l-r) Colton Otts (Sr) 1st Team

All-District, Quardraiz Wadley (Sr) 1st Team All-District & Zach Tate (Sr) Bobby Miller Character Award and District Honorable Mention

Brandon Conwright (Sr) and Darious Hammond (Sr) were both selected by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) as All-Region for Class 4A Region 1. Just 20 players were singled out for that honor. This is the second year for Conwright.

(l-r) Stephone Jackson (Jr) 2nd

Team All-District & Uniikye Washington (So) 2nd Team All-District

In District 7-4A Conwright was named as MVP. This is his third time as an All-District player. Darious Hammond, Colton Otts and Quardraiz Wadley were each selected to the 1st team. This is Otts’ third time as All-District and the 2nd year for Hammond and Wadley.
Uniikye Washington (So) and Stephone Jackson (Jr) both were named to the 2nd team while Zach Tate (Sr) earned the Bobby Miller Exemplary Character Award as well as Honorable Mention.

Head Coach Doug Groff along with JV

Coach Matt Munson & Freshman Coach Matt Casey named as Co-District Coaching

Staff of the Year

This is the 4th straight year for Coach {{t2:Doug Groff: }} and his coaching staff to win Coaching Staff of the Year honors.

More on this topic



Popular stories