84.1 F
Sunday, May 28, 2023

Fouts selected to NAIA All-American Team

Related Articles

2013 AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team includes Lorenzo Fouts, a 2010 KHS graduate. Fouts is a senior at Southwestern College in Wingfield, Kansas. Read more on Fouts

The complete list is as follows: {{more}}


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

WR Kyle Schuck 6-2 180 Sr. Morningside (Iowa) Steve Ryan Cherokee, Iowa (Washington)

WR Andre McCullouch 6-1 195 So. Rocky Mountain (Mont.) Brian Armstrong Riverside, Calif. (Martin Luther King)

TE Donovan Campbell 5-11 233 Jr. Siena Heights (Mich.) Jim Lyall South Bend, Ind. (Clay)

OL Cam Edwards 6-5 317 Sr. St. Francis (Ind.) Kevin Donley Bloomington, Ind. (North)

OL Matt Hall 6-10 325 Sr. Belhaven (Miss.) Joseph Thrasher Yell County, Ark. (Russellville)

OL *Dillon Carmichael 6-6 325 Sr. Doane (Neb.) Matt Franzen Loomis, Neb. (Loomis)

OL Zack VanDeman 6-3 270 Sr. Marian (Ind.) Mark Henninger Whiteland, Ind. (Whiteland)

OL Tyler Ford 6-5 270 Jr. Peru St. (Neb.) Steve Schneider Lincoln, Neb. (Southeast)

QB Josh Hollingsworth 6-1 215 Sr. Faulkner (Ala.) Brent Barker Hamilton, Ala. (Hamilton)

RB Cameron Fore 6-0 215 Sr. Benedictine (Kan.) Larry Wilcox Rolla, Mo. (Rolla Senior)

RB Derek Elliott 6-2 221 Sr. Valley City St. (N.D.) Dennis McCulloch Valley City, N.D. (Valley City)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

DL Ty Phillips 6-2 252 Jr. Missouri Valley Paul Troth East St. Louis, Ill. (East St. Louis)

DL Phil Latimer 6-0 245 Jr. Nebraska Wesleyan Brian Keller Broomfield, Colo. (Broomfield)

DL Jeff Cascella 6-5 215 Jr. St. Francis (Ill.) Joe Curry Melrose Park, Ill. (West Leyden)

LB Jason Gladfelder 6-1 220 Sr. Grand View (Iowa) Mike Woodley Ozark, Mo. (Ozark)

LB Marcus Carter 6-2 245 Sr. Friends (Kan.) Monty Lewis Las Vegas, Nev. (Mojave)

LB Sean Blomquist 5-11 232 Jr. Carroll (Mont.) Mike Van Diest Helena, Mont. (Helena)

LB Brock Messina 6-0 220 Sr. Georgetown (Ky.) Bill Cronin Louisville, Ky. (Trinity)

DB Steven Willis 6-2 215 Sr. Webber International (Fla.) Kelly Scott Mulberry, Fla. (Mulberry Senior)

DB Darnell Woods 6-4 210 Sr. Concordia (Neb.) Vance Winter Phoenix, Ariz. (Tolleson Union)

DB Stoney Burns 5-9 182 Jr. Bethel (Tenn.) Chris Elliott Orlando, Fla. (Jones)

DB Lorenzo Fouts 5-10 200 Sr. Southwestern (Kan.) Ken Crandall Arlington, Texas (Kennedale)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

P Matt Klingler 6-1 235 Jr. St. Ambrose (Iowa) Mike Magistrelli St. Louis Mo. (Lindbergh)

PK Andrew Muzljakovich 6-1 184 Sr. Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Brian Fish Vicksburg, Mich. (Vicksburg)

AP Antonio Bray 5-8 170 Jr. Sterling (Kan.) Andy Lambert Van Nuys, Calif. (Arleta)

*-2012 AFCA All-American

The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams – FBS and FCS. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

Selection Process: The AFCA’s NAIA All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA’s nine districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts prior to a conference call between the district chairmen and the committee chairman on which the team is chosen.

AFCA NAIA Player Selection History: NAIA players who were selected to AFCA All-America teams were named to the AFCA College Division team from 1967-71. In 1972, the AFCA College Division was split to College I and College II. Players from NAIA Division I teams were placed in AFCA College I, while players from NAIA Division II were placed in AFCA College II. That process lasted until 1996, when College I and College II were renamed Division II and Division III. From 1996-2005, all NAIA players who were selected as Coaches’ All-Americans were placed on the AFCA Division II team. In 2006, the AFCA started selecting an NAIA-only team.

Source: http://www.lex18.com/news/brock-messina-headlines-afca-defensive-all-america-team

More on this topic



Popular stories